The IEC Awards

Awards News

Ryan Nicoll, Director of Engineering and co-founder of DSA, has received the 1906 Award from the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) for his tireless contributions towards the development of mooring standards for marine renewable energy applications. The letter attached to the award reads:

Ryan Nicoll has been recognized for the significant leadership he provides to IEC TC 114 Marine Energy, as convenor of Adhoc Group 6 and as the Canadian Head of Delegation.

Furthermore, he contributes broadly to the efforts of TC 114.We would also like to take this opportunity to thank your organization for its commitment and support for Canadians participating in standardization activities, and in sustaining Canada’s national standards network.

Congratulations Ryan!

Programme of Awards

The IEC is privileged to welcome thousands of experts on its platform. With their work, they contribute to building the solid technical foundation that is needed by industry and governments to make products and systems work safer together, everywhere.

Every year the IEC honours exceptional contributions of individuals with one of three Awards:

Lord Kelvin Award

The highest IEC tribute, recognizing exceptional long-term achievements

Created in 1995, the Lord Kelvin Award is granted in recognition of exceptional and dedicated contributions by individuals who, for a period of five years at least, have helped the technical work evolve or who have helped develop and promote the conformity assessment systems.

Those honoured must still be active in the IEC and will have contributed significantly to international electrotechnical standardization and related activities through their leadership and technical expertise, to the extent that their involvement has had a considerable impact on industry or commerce.

A maximum of one Award can be granted per year by the Council Board (CB).

The Award is in honour of the IEC’s first President, The Rt. Hon. Lord Kelvin.

Find out more…

Thomas A. Edison Award

Recognizes exceptional current achievements of TC/SC and Conformity Assessment officers

Created in 2010, the Thomas A. Edison Award recognizes exceptional achievement (within the past five years), dedicated service and significant contributions to the IEC through the effective management of their committees of currently active TC/SC officers (Chairman, Secretary or Assistant Secretary of a Technical Committee or Subcommittee) and officers of the IEC Conformity Assessment Systems and their subsidiary bodies.

A maximum of nine Awards per year may be granted by the management bodies –Standardization Management Board (SMB) and Conformity Assessment Board (CAB) – of which up to seven shall be reserved for TC/SC officers and up to two for officers in the conformity assessment bodies.

The award is in honour of the renowned US electrical engineer Thomas A. Edison

Find out more…

1906 Award

Recognizes exceptional current achievements of experts

Created in 2004 by the IEC Executive Committee (ExCo), the 1906 Award commemorates the IEC’s year of foundation and honours IEC experts around the world whose work is fundamental to the IEC.

The Award also recognizes exceptional and recent achievement – a project or other specific contribution – related to the activities of the IEC and which contributes in a significant way to advancing the work of the Commission.

Find out more…